St. Leonard Community School



Primary Teachers

Middle School Teachers

Related Arts Teachers


Award Winning Staff

St. Leonard has an outstanding, committed, and award-winning staff. Recently the school was honored to receive the Today’s Catholic Teacher “2018 Innovations in Catholic Education Award for Curriculum and Instruction” during the National Catholic Education Association Convention in Cincinnati, OH. Our middle school teachers, Caitlin Ousley, Joe Reed, Aaron Dauenhauer, and Maddie Schepers created a 20% Time class for students in grades 6-8, and these students have taken on the library renovation project.

In August of 2017, Mr. Joe Reed, Technology Coordinator, received the “Catholic Education Foundation Innovation Award” established by the Dan Ulmer Family to honor excellent and dedicated Catholic school teachers whose innovative and creative approach to learning inspires outstanding student achievement.

In 2016, Mr. Joe Reed and Mrs. Caitlin Ousley were awarded a Mini Grant to form the St. Leonard Wolverettes Maker Club through the National Girls Collaborative Project. This first Girls STEM Club has grown into two Makers Clubs for boys and girls in grades 3-5 and 6-8 as well as Robotics teams that compete in the Lego FIRST Robotics Tournament.

In 2016, St. Leonard was selected as one of 500 schools nationwide to participate in Kinsa’s FLUency School Health Program through a grant written by science teacher, Mrs. Caitlin Ousley.

In August 2016, Ms. Christine Wettig received a grant from a local business to purchase iPads and Osmos for the 3rd grade classroom.

In October 2015, Mrs. Caitlin Ousley was awarded a $500 grant to purchase a gel electrophoresis machine and micro pipets through the “Make Activities Count” McDonald’s Restaurants of Kentuckiana MAC Grant program.

In 2015, Mrs. Kathleen Willenbrink received the “Father Joseph McGee Award for Outstanding Catholic Educator” in the Archdiocese of Louisville.

In 2016, Mrs. Teresa Riggs, St Leonard volunteer, was selected as the “Outstanding School Volunteer for 2016-17” in the Archdiocese of Louisville.

Mrs. Mary Parola was the recipient of a 2007 Aegon Grant to video conference with NASA astronauts and engineers to commemorate the 50th anniversary of SPUTNIK along with other space-related science activities.

Mrs. Kathleen Willenbrink was the recipient of a 2007 Aegon Grant to purchase a new Quick Recall System.

In 2005, Mrs. Mary Parola was the first Archdiocesan recipient of Operation Brightside’s Fred Wiche Award for the planning and construction of a “wetland” outdoor classroom using plants and animals native to Kentucky.

Through the years, the following teachers have received Ulmer Awards for Outstanding Catholic Education:
Mrs. Kathleen Willenbrink
Mrs. Mary Parola
Ms. Christine Wettig
Ms. Kathy Wallace

Phone: (502) 897-5265
Fax: (502) 897-5125
440 Zorn Ave,
Louisville, KY 40206
Talgrace Marketing & Media © 2016 All Rights Reserved Terms of Use and Privacy Policy